In addition to this guide for educators, we've created a set of student-friendly research guides for JSTOR (guides.jstor.org). They include both subject-specific guides to content on JSTOR, as well as guides to collections such as Books at JSTOR. All of the guides are free and public. and include user-friendly URLs for creating easy links from library and course web pages.
JSTOR supports full-text keyword searching across all of the content on www.jstor.org. JSTOR generally includes all the content from articles, books, and pamphlets, cover to cover. This makes it possible to search front matter and back matter, letters to the editor, advertisements, and other types of material along with scholarly articles and book chapters. The default setting for search results is to show matches for only content licensed or purchased by the library, but a researcher may choose to change this setting for their own session.
This guide provides quick tips for searching and understanding search results. For more in-depth search documentation, see the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.
Using the Basic Search
Using the Advanced Search
Relevance on JSTOR is a combination of many things. Key elements include:
The format and display of search results is the same for Basic and Advanced searches.
The “view” page for each item on JSTOR provides many ways to explore the full-text content. These features are available for all types of content on JSTOR:
Evaluating relevance: Items located by searching JSTOR will include an option to view a list of search term occurrences at the top of the article page image. This enables you to jump to the pages to see your search terms in context.
Reading the content: For all articles, ebook chapters, and pamphlets, researchers may choose to read or browse the item online, get pre-formatted citations, or immediately download a PDF copy.
More searching options: Depending on the format of the items you are viewing, the Basic Search box at the top of the screen enables searching within the journal or journal issue (for articles), book (for book chapters), pamphlet collection (for pamphlets), or running a new search across all content (all formats).
Citations: Citations may be emailed, exported, or copied from the item view page. JSTOR provides pre-formatted citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles for quick copying and pasting. Export options include direct export to RefWorks, RIS format, and text format.
Stable URL: The stable URL listed with the item citation is the best URL to use when linking to content from library and course web pages.
Pamphlets are formatted in the same ways as journal articles and ebooks, and may be read online or downloaded in PDF format. Be aware that some pamphlets are quite long (50+ pages).
Workspace is a tool to organize your research for articles and book chapters you want to work with later. Within the space, group your citations using folders for different topics and projects, or just save items to the space. You can add notes on your items, delete, and move items to and from folders plus export any citation from your workspace when you’re logged in.
The "Save" button appears on your search results page and on the individual article, book chapter, and pamphlet pages. Select "Save," then go to your workspace by clicking the button again, or continue making selections. Citations you've already saved will be indicated by "View Workspace" wherever they appear on JSTOR.
Your workspace will be available for 2 days before expiring. Love what you’ve done? Create a free JSTOR account and keep it--no matter what institution you are affiliated with.
Citations stored within a JSTOR account can be accessed at any time from the Workspace menu. The citing and export options available from the lists are the same options that appear on search results, item view pages, and Tables of Contents pages.
In Workspace you can:
Found a source that's not on JSTOR? You can add links to sources from outside JSTOR. Use the "Add" icon to add an external link and reference name, then manage items the same way you manage JSTOR citations.
JSTOR’s interface automatically adapts to the screen size of a device without requiring a separate mobile URL or any device configuration. Just go directly to www.jstor.org on a smartphone or tablet, and the screen will adjust accordingly!
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
©2000-2019 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, JPASS®, Artstor® and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.