Skip to main content

JSTOR for secondary school educators

About JSTOR collections for secondary schools

Librarians, teachers, and students at secondary schools have access to more than 2,000 full-text scholarly journals and several primary source collections from JSTOR. JSTOR's historical depth (the oldest journal, Philosophical Transactions, began publication in 1665), makes it possible to study the development of topics over time, analyze changing attitudes and cultural beliefs, and read classic works in over 60 disciplines.

JSTOR digitizes the full back runs of journals, from the first issue published up to 3-5 years from the present, in most cases (some journals have more current issues on JSTOR). JSTOR includes all components of the journals; in addition to research articles, you can find cover images, editorials, book and film reviews, illustrations, and advertisements. 

The primary source collections available to Secondary Schools are:

  • 19th Century British Pamphlets
  • JSTOR Global Plants
  • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
  • World Heritage Sites: Africa

This section of the guide for educators contains subject-specific introductions to the various collections. It important to note that the collections are currently distributed across several websites, so specific URLs are noted in each example. 

JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.

©2000-2019 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, JPASS®, Artstor® and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.