Skip to main content

JSTOR for secondary school educators

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is an online library of journals, academic ebooks, and primary sources. Participating K-12 schools gain access to all of the archival journal content (~2,000 academic journals in more than 60 disciplines) and JSTOR's primary source collections (JSTOR Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa, African World Heritage Sites). Detailed descriptions of these collections are below. 

The ebooks and current journal issues are purchased separately and may not be part of your school's subscription.

Keywords to describe JSTOR: interdisciplinary, full-text, scholarly, academic, peer-reviewed (for most journal and ebook content).

Journals

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,300 journals from 1,000 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 60 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics. 

Primary sources

JSTOR includes more than two million primary sources across four collections:

  • 19th Century British Pamphlets - This is a collection of more than 26,000 pamphlets published in the 19th century. They chronicle political and socioeconomic issues and debates of concern to Britain at the time, and the digitized files preserve images and contemporary annotations. For libraries that subscribe to 19th Century British Pamphlets, the content is available alongside the journals and ebooks on http://www.jstor.org.
  • Global Plants - Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized, high-resolution plant type specimens, and also includes reference works and primary sources such as correspondences, diaries, botanical illustrations, and photographs. Global Plants is available at http://plants.jstor.org.
  • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa - Struggles for Freedom (http://www.aluka.org/struggles) is a collection of more than 20,000 objects that relate to liberation movements in six southern African countries. The objects include oral histories, speeches, nationalist publications, fully digitized books, and pamphlets. 
  • World Heritage Sites: Africa - World Heritage Sites (http://www.aluka.org/heritage) is a collection of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites and rock art sites. The more than 50,000 objects in the collection include photographs, 3D models, GIS datasets, site plans, excavation reports, and other scholarly material.

Ebooks

JSTOR contains more than 85,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format. Ebooks are not included in the standard Secondary School collection, but may be purchased by the library.  Plus, 6,000 Open Access titles are freely available on JSTOR for anyone who wishes to use them.

More information about ebooks: http://about.jstor.org/content-on-jstor-books

JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.

©2000-2019 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, JPASS®, Artstor® and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.