Scope: JSTOR includes more than 125 academic journals within the discipline of art & art history. The collection is strongest in the sub-disciplines of fine arts, Western art, Asian art, classical and ancient art, and Medieval and Renaissance art.
Teaching and learning ideas: Research artworks, artists, movements, styles, criticism, periods, and more. Track museum acquisitions, find reviews of gallery exhibitions and even tour special events such as the the 1893 World's Fair through the eyes of a contemporary visitor.
A special highlight of the art content on JSTOR includes a group of rare American art periodicals from the early 20th century that includes the poems, designs, and art work from contemporaries such as Alfred Stieglitz, Katharine Rhoades, Francis Picabia, and William H. Bradley. One example is 291, an arts and literary journal that was published in New York City beginning in 1915 and introduced visual poetry to the United States.
Start at: www.jstor.org/subject/arthistory
Scope: The 19th Century British Pamphlets were contributed by several research libraries in the United Kingdom. The collection contains 26,000 pamphlets spanning more than one million pages and were selected to highlight the political, social, and economic issues of 19th century Britain.
Teaching and learning ideas: Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. In many ways, pamphlets are similar to today's blogs, providing a platform for individuals to chronicle events and issues of their time. Use the pamphlets on JSTOR to explore opinions and debates on many topics, including:
Highlights: Some notable pamphlets amd authors include:
Start at: www.jstor.org
Scope: Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. The collection consists of more than 190,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral histories, and speeches.
Teaching and learning ideas: Delve into topics of colonial rule, social justice, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide resistance networks through the visual resources in the collection: photojournalism, political posters, and maps, Explore art as protest and political statement in posters and magazine images.
Start at: aluka.org/struggles
Scope: In addition to millions of photographs of plant specimens, Global Plants includes botanical paintings, prints, photographs, and drawings from herbaria and museums around the world.
Teaching and learning ideas: Study the intersection of art and science, compare styles of illustration in the 19th century with contemporary styles, compare photographs to paintings, compare botanical illustrations to depictions in fine art. Choose different botanical illustrations, compare the styles of artists, note their dates of creation. What sorts of elements are emphasized in each? What sorts of external influences, such as the current social/scientific climate, may have influenced their styles?
Start at: plants.jstor.org
Read our online magazine that connects news and current affairs with related scholarship on JSTOR. It's a great source of ideas for paper topics and classroom discussions.
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
©2000-2019 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, JPASS®, Artstor® and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.