Shared Collections on JSTOR are shared by contributing institutions and freely available to all. They include images and primary source documents.
Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.
Or, browse all content on JSTOR.
Shared Collections (previously called JSTOR Open Community Collections) allows institutions to share their unique digital collections with a wider audience.
Is your institution interested in sharing collections on JSTOR? We have several ways to easily publish content. If you are a JSTOR Forum subscriber, you can publish and update your collections yourself. If you're not a Forum subscriber, you can publish your content to JSTOR via Collection Loader. Alternatively, you can work with ITHAKA staff to get your content harvested and published.
See our JSTOR Shared Collections for Administrators guide for more information.
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary primary and secondary sources in the arts, humanities and social sciences from and about South Asia. SAOA is created by a collaborative grassroots initiative of US research libraries and partners from South Asia. Administratively hosted by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), and presented online for open access in partnership with JSTOR/Ithaka, SAOA digitally preserves and makes freely available all its content.
JSTOR has partnered with the Center for Research Libraries to make historical South Asian materials freely available - including primary and secondary works such pamphlets, monographs, periodicals, fiction, poetry and more! This collection is open to all.
The SAOA archives on JSTOR include:
Functioning as devotional objects, religious texts, and luxury goods, illuminated manuscripts play a key role in our understanding of religion and the visual arts during the Middle Ages. Community collections of illuminated manuscripts include the early Renaissance Books of Hours from Trinity College, Yale University’s Visual Resources of the Middle East of 12th-century manuscripts, Medieval Manuscripts Collection from University of Scranton, Medieval Portland: Book of Hours from Portland State University, and Rare Books and Manuscripts from Queens College Special Collections & Archives.
Reflecting changes in natural and human environments, maps can be used to understand population growth, weather patterns, natural resources, and changing boundaries between nations. Community collections featuring maps are the University of Divinity’s Maps and Plans in the Goold Collection offering maps of Ireland, Middlebury College’s Map Collection of 19th- and 20th-century maps of Vermont, and the University of Washington’s World and Regional Maps collection, with materials from the 17th and 18th centuries.
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.
©2000-2024 ITHAKA. All Rights Reserved. JSTOR®, the JSTOR logo, JPASS®, Artstor® and ITHAKA® are registered trademarks of ITHAKA.