JSTOR Resources for Licensing Representatives

Publisher Collections is an innovative new model within the Books at JSTOR program that helps libraries efficiently acquire and access scholarly ebooks from trusted academic publishers at scale. 

Developed by nonprofit JSTOR, in partnership with academic libraries and publishers, Publisher Collections helps simplify workflows, lower operational burden, and enhance discovery and access across disciplines. 

Beginning in 2026 with 20+ presses, this is among the first nonprofit-led publisher collection models.

Each Publisher Collection includes:

• Seamless access to all ebooks from the publisher available on the JSTOR platform
• A perpetual JSTOR license to current year title sets from a publisher
• Access to all of the publishers’ earlier titles on JSTOR for active participants
• A tiered fee structure based on your institution’s JSTOR classification, with established country level savings applied

Explore the evolving Publisher Collections title list, which includes backlist and current year titles that will continue to grow.

What collections do:

• Make ebook access more equitable for institutions of all sizes worldwide
• Simplify library workflows and enhance discovery across disciplines
• Provide seamless access to ebook titles from a publisher on JSTOR’s trusted, easy-to-use platform
• Help publishers and authors reach a global audience
• Support researchers by making ebooks fully searchable alongside scholarly journals, primary sources, images, and multimedia on JSTOR
• Secure long-term preservation of ebooks via Portico

What is coming next:

• Official launch: 2026

• Blog Post Announcement
  The Publisher Collections Announcement Blog Post is a narrative-driven announcement authored by John Lenahan, introducing JSTOR’s new nonprofit-led, multi-press ebook acquisition model. It highlights the model’s community-informed development, outlines what the model is and the benefits it offers to libraries, and features a full list of 20+ participating academic publishers. Promoted via the news item, Library Digest, and the campaign thank you page, this blog builds trust and drives early interest ahead of the 2026 launch. Outreach can use it in follow-up communications to reinforce JSTOR’s values, showcase publisher participation, and direct librarian prospects to the landing page form to express interest.
• Web Page
  As part of the website redesign, Publisher Collections is now integrated into Books at JSTOR, with its own overview page and a collections by publisher page. The latter highlights each press’s title counts, subject strengths, and title lists. All pages include a CTA inviting prospects to share which publishers they’re interested in so we can help them find the right fit. An FAQ section is coming soon. Use these webpages to support and strengthen your prospect conversations.
• News Item
  The Publisher Collections News Item is a formal public announcement introducing JSTOR’s nonprofit-led, multi-press ebook acquisition model launching in 2026. It outlines the model’s structure, community-driven development, and the commitment of 20+ participating academic publishers, while highlighting support from librarians and publishers through quotes and survey data. Shared via JSTOR’s website and distributed on listservs, this announcement provides Outreach and Marketing with a credible, values-based resource to reinforce the campaign’s key messages and direct readers to the blog and landing page for deeper engagement.
• Library Journal Webinar:
  We partnered with Library Journal (LJ), the Big Ten Academic Alliance, the University of North Carolina Press, and Liverpool University Press for a Nov. 13 webinar showcasing how Publisher Collections helps libraries gain comprehensive coverage, streamline workflows, and deliver meaningful value at scale. The webinar is available on-demand.
   

The Publisher Collections Librarian One Sheet is a visually compelling, quick-reference tool that introduces this new nonprofit-led ebook acquisition model to librarian buyers. It highlights how the model supports libraries, what each collection includes, and what the collections do. Use this asset to spark interest and drive prospects to the landing page form for lead qualification and follow-up.

The Publisher Collections Slides are a flexible, visual presentation designed for use in virtual or in-person meetings with librarian prospects. They walk librarians through the model—highlighting how it works, who it's for, and the value it delivers—with plans to incorporate select collection titles, authors, and fee details to support informed decision-making. These slides enable personalized conversations and serve as a key resource for Agents to build understanding, answer questions, and encourage participation.