JSTOR Resources for Licensing Representatives

Goal: Ensure our licensing representatives are using the appropriate terms to promote and engage with participants and prospects when promoting and talking about our books program.

• Do use “acquire” and “acquisition".
• Do not use “purchase”, “buy”, or “sell”.
• When promoting “perpetual access”, it is important to note this is  “perpetual access on JSTOR”. You can also use “perpetual access license”. 
• "Purchase" and “buy” implies institutions “own” the ebook copy, which they do not. They have a license with perpetual access provided by JSTOR on jstor.org. What they are doing is "acquiring perpetual access on JSTOR", they are not "purchasing" their own copy that they can take or access elsewhere.

Books at JSTOR partners with libraries and publishers to address common challenges in book acquisition, aligning with their budgets and strategic needs. Our mission-driven approach offers flexible ebook acquisition models, including individual titles, subject packages, evidence-based, and demand-driven options paired with 13,000+ open access ebooks. We collaborate with the academic community to develop future-forward solutions for DRM-free perpetual access across 85+ disciplines, 158,000+ ebooks, and 340+ academic publishers, all alongside scholarly journals, special collections, images, and multimedia on JSTOR.

High-quality content: We partner with 340+ leading academic publishers worldwide, including university and independent presses, and public policy organizations.

Integration with primary and secondary sources: Users can search across the full text of ebooks alongside scholarly journals, special collections, images, and multimedia on JSTOR, placing them into existing research workflows to help increase discovery and usage.

Ease of use: All ebook chapters are available exclusively in a DRM-free, unlimited-user, perpetual access model on JSTOR. They work just like the journal articles, with unlimited simultaneous use, PDF downloads and printing, and no need to log in or use special software

Affordability: There are no recurring fees or platform costs, ensuring ongoing availability of valuable content. Institutions enjoy annual savings, determined by their JSTOR Archive Collection participation level and the previous year’s books spend.
 

Books at JSTOR allows institutions to customize their acquisition strategy by offering flexible options to suit their collection strategy and budget. We also collaborate with workflow partners, like GOBI Library Solutions, Rialto/OASIS, and Schweitzer Fachinformationen, to make ebook acquisitions easier and more efficient for libraries. 
 

Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA)
Evidence-Based Acquisition (EBA) is a Books at JSTOR model that gives libraries unlimited access to 84,500+ high-quality backlist ebooks from 115+ scholarly publishers for a single upfront fee. After one year of unlimited DRM-free access, libraries use usage data to select the titles they want to own, ensuring every acquisition with perpetual access on JSTOR reflects real reader engagement. EBA is a flexible, cost-effective way to expand access, simplify workflows, and make informed collection development decisions.

Details for EBA cycle offer for new orders are available here.
 

Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA)
Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) is a Books at JSTOR model that provides libraries with perpetual, cost-effective access to a broad range of high-quality ebooks with no upfront deposit, and offers publishers increased discovery of their titles. Libraries only pay for titles once they meet a usage threshold, ensuring every acquisition reflects real reader demand, making it a highly efficient and low-risk way to build collections. With DRM-free, perpetual access on JSTOR and seamless workflow through GOBI Library Solutions or Rialto/OASIS, DDA supports efficient, user-driven collection development.

A small number of publishers have opted to place an embargo on their most recently released titles or leave DDA altogether due to the restrictive embargo options. See this DDA title eligibility page for the publishers that have placed restrictions on DDA eligibility or removed their embargo.
 

Subject Packages & Individual Titles
Subject packages and individual titles is a Books at JSTOR model that gives libraries the flexibility to build ebook packages with perpetual access on JSTOR, tailored to their budget and curriculum. Designed with librarians in mind, pre-built subject packages feature frontlist and backlist ebooks from 2014 through 2024, covering more than 60 disciplines. This provides an easy starting point for tailored packages, to help streamline acquisition workflows and free up staff time for other priorities. Libraries can also choose title-by-title selection to build packages by selecting from our full list of 150,000+ titles from 340+ academic publishers, or by using any combination of publisher, discipline, and copyright year.